Environmental Sustainability

Posted on: January 11, 2019

Lafayette one of 20 Colorado communities now “Open for Solar Business”

Lafayette Solar Garden

Twenty cities, towns, and counties in Colorado, including Lafayette, have now received designation from the national SolSmart program for making it faster, easier, and more affordable for homes and businesses to go solar. Colorado now ties California for the most SolSmart designations nationwide, marking the state as a leader in the expansion of solar energy.

SolSmart designation recognizes communities for taking bold steps to encourage solar energy growth and remove obstacles to solar development. A SolSmart designation helps Colorado communities meet their goals for renewable energy growth, sustainability, and reduced energy costs.  For companies looking to expand, a SolSmart designation is a signal that they are is “open for solar business.”

In 2017, the City of Lafayette received a "Gold" level SolSmart designation for improving the solar permitting process and proposing a solar ordinance to provide clearer guidance on solar development throughout the City.

“Lafayette has pledged to become a 100% renewable city by 2030 and will rely nearly exclusively on solar development to reach that goal,” said Lafayette Mayor Christine Berg. “It is projected that 56 MW of locally-sited solar energy will be needed by 2030, and the actions taken to become a SolSmart Gold recipient are already helping us develop initiatives for that capacity.”

The 20 SolSmart designees in Colorado include Adams County; Aurora; Boulder; Boulder County; Breckenridge; Brighton; Broomfield; Clear Creek County; Delta County; Denver; Durango; Fort Collins; Golden; Jefferson County; Lafayette; Lakewood; Longmont; Pueblo; Pueblo County; and Superior.

LEARN more about the SolSmart program....
Facebook Twitter Email